top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Pirrera

Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta

The original recipe: https://www.budgetbytes.com/one-pot-creamy-cajun-chicken-pasta/


Naturally, I had to play around with it. While browsing Reddit one night awhile ago, I passed a photo on r/food that caught my eye immediately. The poster cited this recipe as his/her inspiration for their dish. I saved it to make in the future...


...and the future is NOW!


My revised version of the above recipe:

Serves 2...


Seasoning:

1 tsp. paprika

1/2 tsp. oregano

1/2 tsp. thyme

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. onion powder

salt, pepper, and cayenne to taste


I used chili powder in place of cayenne, but I wouldn't recommend it. Use the cayenne 🌶

Shrimp Pasta

Olive oil

1/2 tbs. butter

1/3 cup diced tomato

1/4 cup sliced sun dried tomatoes

1/2 yellow onion

2 cloves of garlic, slivered or diced

Defrosted or fresh uncooked shrimp, shell removed (I made 8 for myself... up to you)

Penne of your choice (the recipe called for a 1/4 lb. of pasta ..about 1/2 cup.. but I upped it to a cup and then some...)

2 cups of chicken broth (upped from only 1/2 cup...)

Big heaping spoonful of cream cheese (or more if you'd like 😈)

  1. Dice the tomatoes, onions, and garlic.

  2. Heat a few "glugs" of olive oil and the butter until melted and foamy. Add the tomatoes, onions, and garlic to soften. Watch for the onions to become translucent.

  3. In a separate bowl, combine the seasoning ingredients, add the shrimp, and stir to coat them. Add the shrimp to the skillet and toss around to sear them. No need to fully cook.

  4. Add the uncooked pasta directly to the skillet.


5. Add the chicken broth, which should be enough to almost cover the pasta. Cover the skillet with a lid, bring to a boil, then lower heat to medium. Cook the pasta until tender--about 10 minutes.


6. The broth will reduce significantly. Test the pasta for doneness.


7. Stir in the cream cheese.



When I made this, I only used 1.5 cups of broth. I increased it to 2 in this recipe in hopes of more sauce. Feel free to add even more! I'm definitely a sauce girl.
Enjoy!
23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page