top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Pirrera

🍆Egg-cellent Baba Ganoush

My mom came inside with her garden's last eggplant of the season, and Baba Ganoush popped right into my head. I've been meaning to try out a recipe, and as soon as I found that Serious Eats had one (of course they do), I scanned the ingredient list. Really simple and common ingredients that we already had. All I needed was another eggplant, tahini, and pita bread.


I had baba ganoush once before at a middle eastern restaurant called Marhaba in Lambertville, PA. They spell it BABAGHANNOUGH on their menu. Not sure if that's a typo or a different spelling .... On Wikipedia I'm seeing Baba ghanoush (UK: /ˌbɑːbə ɡæˈnuːʃ/, US: /- ɡəˈnuːʃ, - ɡəˈnuːʒ/; Arabic: بابا غنوج‎, romanizedbābā ġannūj), also spelled baba ganoush or baba ghanouj. Bonus: This place has belly dancers 💃🏻


Anyway, my attempt was so delicious, as are all of Kenji's recipes.


^ There's the recipe. You can scroll through right here on my page. Looks simple. Took me quite awhile... like an hour and a half. Worth it.

As you can see, I changed my mind on execution a few times. Ideally I would have liked to stay with the cooling rack technique, but the rack was not holding up well to the direct flame. I switched to our stove top cast iron griddle, but it was difficult to get the bottom of the eggplants to make contact with the surface unless I held them there with my tongs. Toward the end, I ended up slicing the eggplants in half and broiling them. The whole process took about 45 minutes. Next time, I'm either going to bake them from the start or use a grill.

While the eggplants were roasting, I prepared the other ingredients. The recipe is for 3 eggplants, but I had 2 so I adjusted my measurements.

These photos are less than pretty, but that's mushed eggplant for ya. The first photo is after I scooped all of the flesh from the skins into a strainer. My eggplant was pretty seedy, so I did my best to separate them without compromising all of the fruit.


The middle photo is after I used a salad spinner to remove excess water and seeds. I then added the lemon and garlic and attempted to make a paste.


The photo on the right is after I added the tahini and extra virgin olive oil. By rigorously stirring while pouring, the ingredients were able to emulsify. I ended up scooping the shlop onto a cutting board and running my knife through it just to smooth it out a bit and break down the bigger chunks. I also added sea salt.

I finished by topping the baba ganoush with more extra virgin olive oil and fresh parsley from the garden.

I warmed the pita bread on the cast iron flat top and sliced it into 6 wedges.

Takeaways:

  1. Use a grill or roast the eggplant halves in the oven face down.

  2. Possibly use a food processor next time for a smoother dip.

  3. Roast the garlic for a deeper, sweeter component.

  4. Look for thinner eggplants with less seeds. Now it's time to put my leftover tahini to use! Kalamata Hummus next...?

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page