top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJess Pirrera

It's All About the 'Kraut


I tell this story to anyone who will listen: I was a fan of buying lunch a few times a week in elementary school-- chicken patty sandwiches, Thanksgiving turkey dinner once a year, those delicious deep dish mini pizzas that some kids would just eat the cheese off of, and of course, hot dog day. Our hot dogs were always served with baked beans and sauerkraut, accompanied by bland, canned peas and carrots or string beans that I would politely decline. I did, however, proudly ask for extra sauerkraut each time and sit down at my table with a mountain of sour, salty, pickled cabbage. I started a system where I'd ask my classmates who didn't like sauerkraut to spoon their share right on top of mine. Obviously I received some sour (or sauer.. ha ha...) looks from my peers, but within minutes, it would be devoured...well before the hot dog. Good thing I was a kid with a solid stomach.



Does this bring back any memories? Spent many a Friday licking the sauce off my fingers after enjoying one of these childhood favorites!

Anyway, until recently, I didn't know that sauerkraut had no vinegar involved in its making! The ingredients on the can simply say 'cabbage and salt.' Sounded simple enough to research and try! We purchased some mason jars and a head of cabbage, took the non-iodized sea salt out of the pantry, and got to work. I'd like to give credit where credit is due: https://therealfoodrds.com/how-to-make-sauerkraut/. We followed this website throughout the entire process. It had helpful photos and detailed steps. Click on the website to ferment your own sour, salty, cabbagy goodness 🤗




I didn't realize it was such a process! The two week wait was worth it.



We sautéed the kraut for good measure, which actually brought out its saltiness, and enjoyed it on good ole hot dogs for dinner. It was also delicious on my altered take of a "Reuben" for lunch the next day: prosciutto, sauerkraut and thousand island.

*Live dog in photo was not harmed in the making of the dog dinner**




Other ways to incorporate sauerkraut into your life:

-Stuffed cabbage

-In a Reuben

-Sautéed with onions on top of pork chops

-With pierogi

-Sautéed with sliced kielbasa

And many others!

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page